top of page

What Else Are We Forgetting?

A Moment Apart…

Good SUNNY day, everybody! I know you’re technically not supposed to say, “Alleluia,” during Lent, but I think this warm day is a reason to praise our God!

I think about just last week, or the week before, when the temperatures were bitterly cold, and I remember how I couldn’t really see the warmth coming. I was blinded by my circumstances and didn’t take a lot of time to remember what has happened every year for decades, for centuries: the earth becomes warm again, the sun rises for a longer period of time, the plants and grass turn green again. In the middle of the assault on my physical body in the form of the frigid surroundings, I forget.

Given that I forget something like warm air so easily, it does cause me to wonder a bit at what else I forget that is infinitely more important than the weather. What about prayer – my conversation with God? What about reading the ancient texts handed down to us by our forefathers and mothers? What about the Holy Spirit, which hovers a breath away?

In the face of these easily-forgotten but oh-so-important aspects of life, sometimes it’s a good idea to simply sit down, grab the Bible, and spend a little quiet time with Scripture. It doesn’t take long to submerse yourself in the ups and downs of God’s relationship with people. Today, when I flipped the Bible open, believe it or not, I hit the 23rd Psalm. Psalms are GREAT for being led in praise or in petition to the Lord – things that EVERYBODY needs! Not just girls, not just guys, but all of us sinners. Here are the words of the Psalm following right after the 23rd. Perhaps you can just focus on the words, on the feelings which are encased in the lines, and let your heart be led.

The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it.

The world and all its people belong to him.

For he laid the earth’s foundation on the seas and built it on the ocean depths.

Who may climb the mountain of the LORD?

Who may stand in his holy place?

Only those whose hands and hearts are pure, who do not worship idols and never tell lies.

They will receive the LORD’s blessing and have right standing with God their Savior.

They alone may enter God’s presence and worship the God of Israel.

Interlude

Open up, ancient gates!

Open up, ancient doors, and let the King of glory enter.

Who is the King of glory?

The LORD, strong and mighty, the LORD, invincible in battle.

Open up, ancient gates!

Open up, ancient doors, and let the King of glory enter.

Who is the King of glory?

The LORD Almighty—he is the King of glory.

Interlude

As you go, don’t “be” blessed – you already are! Just pay some attention to those blessings. :-)

In Christ,

Jess


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page