top of page

How do YOU see Jesus?


Having a budding theologian for a husband, you start being part of rather thought-provoking discussions. Yesterday, Matt was reading from one of his theology books to his best friend, Mike. One of the questions which arose from that discussion was, "do we really KNOW Jesus?"


Now, typically, this question refers to knowing Jesus in a salvation-related way – as in, “do you have Jesus in your heart?” or “do you believe in Jesus as the Son of God, who died to take away your sin and rose again, overcoming the grave?” In this case, however, the question is more about the character and person of Christ – what he felt, thought, acted like, etc. We know that Jesus was both human and God, but what in the world does that look like in person? If Jesus were walking down the street, would we notice him? Would we see something different? Would he be holding his head high, looking forward, or perhaps gazing at the sky, or even looking around at everyone else?


While there is the argument that this doesn’t really matter, that we can’t really know what Jesus did because we weren’t there, what this does bring attention to is the humanity of Christ. It’s very easy to hear snippets of Scripture in church or read them in devotion and to hear Christ as divine. His miracles are spoken of plentifully – water into wine, walking on water, healing the sick – but this same Jesus slept, ate, felt pain and pleasure – he was fully human as well as divine.


What does this mean for us? Well, firstly, I think it raises a few more questions. How do we reconcile God as a human? How do we envision Jesus? Is he, as some think, “macho?” Is he, as some others think, “meek?” Is he a combination, or is he rather undefined for us 21st-century-ers?


Secondly, I think it’s important to remember the fact that the human body and nature of Jesus was able to do divine things. As was pointed out yesterday, we as humans are supposed to be able to do even greater things than Jesus himself did – in this case, speaking of his miracles. If we see a mountain, we can say, “Move!” and it will go:

18 Jesus rebuked the demon, and it came out of the boy, and he was healed at that moment. 19 Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, “Why couldn’t we drive it out?” 20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:18-20

and,

10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. John 14:10-14

In some ways, you might think of Jesus as a fulfillment of humanity. He was able to feel, hear, see, smell, and so forth, just like us, but he lived in perfection. He walked completely with God. He gave himself over to God in full. There was no reservation, no “but wait…” moment. He and the Father were (are) one. And yet, he had the mantle of humanity.


Here’s the million dollar question: can we strive to be as he was during his time on earth? Human, yet one with God?

It might feel as if you are going down the rabbit hole thinking about theological matters, but once you get to the bottom, there is a world waiting for you that is unique, colorful, and eye-opening. I’m certain these are not all of the reasons we should consider Jesus’ humanity, but they are a start. Don’t get hung up on the things we don’t know, but explore what we might be able to learn about Jesus. These questions can help you hone your perception of who Jesus is and how our experience as humans can look more like his experience as a human. God bless you on your pursuit!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page